Bookshelf Basics.

When I went to visit my friend KC’s new house down in Jacksonville, FL a few months ago, one of the first things I noticed upon touring her beautiful (and I mean beautiful!) home was her fabulous built-in bookshelves. They are focal point in the living room and they are styled absolutely P-E-R-F-E-C-T-L-Y. The girl’s got a serious eye for design & I left totally inspired! This got me thinking about bookshelves and how much of a total “hit or miss” these can be. Here are few tips I’ve learned when it comes to making you you end up in the “hit” category:

1. Mix & Match: books, baskets & accessories:

Mix match collage

2. Stack books both vertical & horizontal:

stacked collage

 3. Add plants:

plants collage

4. Keep (mainly) to one color palette:

color collage

5. Layer, layer, layer:

layered collage

Unfortunately, my apartment doesn’t have any built-ins, but I’ve only got floating white shelves (came with the apt), so I made the best of them!! Here’s how I used my tips above to style my own:

my shelves

What’s your best trick to styling built-ins?!

Image Sources

Mix & Match 1 & 2 / Stack Books 1 & 2 / Plants 1 & 2 / Color Palette: 1 & 2 / Layering: 1 & 2

15 thoughts on “Bookshelf Basics.

  1. I’ve found adding in glass pieces help add depth… Especially if the back of the shelves are painted…you can see right through the glass without feeling like you’re hiding the goods!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Ikea Hacks. | SouthEndStyle

  3. Pingback: Decorating a Small Space. | SouthEndStyle

  4. Pingback: 2015 Roundup | SouthEndStyle

  5. Pingback: Best of 2016 & Plans for 2017 – SouthEndStyle

Leave a Reply

